With the public voting now closed for the Heavy Music Awards 2017, we are excited to reveal the longlist for Best Album – a list of every single album nominated by our judging panel of over 300 industry experts.

To underline the incredible strength in depth across today’s rock and metal landscape, the longlist includes a massive 165 albums and spans a huge variety of styles and subgenres.

The finalists, as announced in May, are:

Architects – All Our Gods Have Abandoned Us (Epitaph / Producers: Fredrik Nordström + Henrik Udd)
Deftones – Gore (Reprise / Producer: Matt Hyde)
Every Time I Die – Low Teens (Epitaph / Producer: Will Putney)
Gojira – Magma (Roadrunner / Producer: Joe Duplantier)
Metallica – Hardwired… To Self-Destruct (Blackened / Producer: Greg Fidelman)
Oathbreaker – Rheia (Deathwish / Producer: Jack Shirley)
Thrice – To Be Everywhere Is To Be Nowhere (Vagrant / Producer: Eric Palmquist)

You can listen to tracks from every album – and discover some new artists while you’re at it – via the embedded playlist at the bottom of this post.


HMA17 Best Album – The Longlist

3 Doors Down – Us & The Night
40 Watt Sun – Wider Than The Sky
65daysofstatic – No Man’s Sky: Music For An Infinite Universe
A Day To Remember – Bad Vibrations
Aborted – Retrogore
Against Me – Shape Shift With Me
Agoraphobic Nosebleed – Arc
Airbourne – Breaking Outta Hell
Alter Bridge – The Last Hero
Amenra – Alive
Angel Du$t – Rock The Fuck On Forever
Anthrax – For All Kings
Architects – All Our Gods Have Abandoned Us
Area 11 – Modern Synthesis
Asking Alexandria – The Black
Avatar – Feathers & Flesh
Avenged Sevenfold – The Stage
Babymetal – Metal Resistance
Basement – Promise Everything
Beartooth – Aggressive
Belvedere – Revenge Of The Fifth
Biffy Clyro – Ellipsis
Billy Talent – Afraid of Heights
Black Foxxes – I’m Not Well
Black Peaks – Statues
Black Stone Cherry – Kentucky
Blink 182 – California
Blood Ceremony – Lord of Misrule
Blues Pills – Lady In Gold
Bossk – Audio Noir
Boston Manor – Be Nothing
Brian Fallon – Painkillers
Brutal Youth – Sanguine
Bury Tomorrow – Earthbound
Cane Hill – Smile
Carbomb – Meta
Casey – Love Is Not Enough
Cough – Still They Prey
Cult Of Luna & Julie Christmas – Mariner
David Bowie – Blackstar
Death Angel – The Evil Divide
Decsendents – Hypercaffium Spazzinate
Deftones – Gore
Delain – Moonbathers
Destroyer 666 – Wildfire
Devin Townsend Project – Transcendance
Downfall of Gaia – Atrophy
Dream Theater – The Astonishing
Elephant Tree – Elephant Tree
Emma Ruth Rundle – Marked For Death
Evergrey – The Storm Within
Every Time I Die – Low Teans
Face To Face – Protection
Fallujah – Dreamless
Frameworks – Smother
Future of the Left – The Peace & Truth of Future of the Left
Garganjua – Garganjua
God Damn – Everything Ever
Gojira – Magma
Grand Magus – The Sword
Green Day – Revolution Radio
Hacktivist – Outside The Box
Hands Like Houses – Dissonants
Hatebreed – The Concrete Confessional
Head Wound City – A New Wave Of Violence
Heck – Instructions
Hellions – Opera Oblivia
Highly Suspect – The Boy Who Died Wolf
Iggy Pop – Post Pop Depression
In Dynamics – Everything I See
Inglorious – Inglorious
Inter Arma – “Paradise Gallows”
Issues – Headspace
Jimmy Eat World – Integrity Blues
JPNSGRLS – Divorce
Killswitch Engage – Incarnate
King 810 – La Petit Mort Or A Conversation With God
King Dude – Sex
King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard – Nonagon Infinity
Knocked Loose – Laugh Tracks
Korn – The Serenity Of Suffering
Kvelertak – Nattesferd
Last In Line – Heavy Crown
Letlive – If I’m The Devil
Losers – How To Ruin Other People’s Futures
Marillion – FEAR
Megadeth – Dystopia
Meshuggah – The Violent Sleep Of Reason
Metallica – Hardwired… To Self Destruct
Milk Teeth – Vile Child
Modern Baseball – Holy Ghost
Monster Truck – Sittin’ Heavy
Moose Blood – Blush
Nails – You Will Never Be One Of Us
Napoleon – Newborn Mind
Necronautical – The Endurance at Night
Nervus – Permanent Rainbow
Neurosis – Fires Within Fires
Night Verses – Into The Vanishing Light
Norma Jean – Polar Similar
Normandie – Inguz
Nothing – Tired Of Tomorrow
Oathbreaker – Rheia
Oceans of Slumber – Winter
Of Mice & Men – Cold World
Old Corpse Road – Of Campfires and Evening Mists
Opeth – Sorceress
Oranssi Pazuzu – Varahtelija
Pain – Coming Home
Panic! At The Disco – Death Of A Bachelor
Periphery – Periphery III: Select Difficulty
Pierce The Veil – Misadventures
Pup – The Dream Is Over
Purson – Desire’s Magic Theatre
Radiohead – A Moon Shaped Pool
Red Hot Chili Peppers – The Getaway
Ricky Warwick – When Patsy Cline Was Crazy / Hearts On Trees
Rival Sons – Hollow Bones
Royal Republic – Weekend Man
Russian Circles – Guidance
Sabaton – The Last Stand
Sixx:A.M. – Prayers For The Damned (Eleven Seven)
Skalmold – Vögguvísur Yggdrasils
Slaves – Take Control
Stone Broken – All In Time
Subrosa For This We Fought The Battle of Ages
Suicidal Tendencies – World Gone
Sum 41 – 13 Voices
Sumac – What One Becomes
Taking Back Sunday – Tidal Wave
The Agonist – Five
The Amity Affliction – This Could Be Heartbreak
The Answer – Solas
The Black Queen – Fever Daydream
The Dirty Nil – Higher Power
The Fall of Troy – Okay
The Hotelier – Goodness
The Interrupters – Say It Out Loud
The Melvins – Basses Loaded
The Quireboys – Twisted Love
Thrice – To Be Everywhere Is To Be Nowhere
Thunder – All You Can Eat
Tiny Moving Parts – Celebrate
Too Close To Touch – I Haven’t Been Myself
Touché Amoré – Stage Four
Trade Wind – You Make Everything Disappear
Trap Them – Crown Feral
Trophy Eyes – Chemical Miracle
Twelve Foot Ninja – Outlier
Tyketto – Reach
Useless I.D. – State Is Burning
Valley of the Sun – Volume Rock
Vanishing Life – Surveillance
Vektor – Terminal Redux
Violent Soho – WACO
Vola – Inmazes
Volbeat – Seal The Deal & Lets Boogie
Wardruna – Runaljod – Ragnarok
Waterparks – Double Dare
Weezer – The White Album
Whores. – Gold
Wolf People – Ruins
Wovenhand – Star Treatment
Wretch – Wretch
Yearbook – I Stop Somewhere Waiting For You
Zakk Wylde – Book of Shadows II
Zoax – Zoax